From my understandi ng, you are notified via text or email (your choice or both) and either once or twice a day, I believe, when the reader logs on. If they log on, you will be notified at that time. But if they take a call and log off soon after, you'll have to start over. You have to then reset the notificatio n if the reader logged off again and you selected to be notified once.